The Official web forum of Kapisanan ng mga Kamag-anak ng Migranteng Manggagawang Pilipino, Inc.
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  Official WebsiteOfficial Website  

Share | 

 Journalists to mark World Press Freedom Day

Go down 

Female Number of posts : 880
Registration date : 2008-01-06

PostSubject: Journalists to mark World Press Freedom Day   Mon May 05, 2008 3:10 pm


Press Release
May 2, 2008

Journalists to mark World Press Freedom Day with flowers and songs

The National Union of Journalists of the Philippines (NUJP) and other media groups will celebrate World Press Freedom Day on May 3 by offering flowers at the National Shrine of Marcelo H. del Pilar in the morning and hosting a jamming session by members of media in the evening.

NUJP decided to honor Del Pilar, editor of the revolutionary paper La Solidaridad, to emphasize the need for journalists not to forget the past, particularly periods of history during which media played a very important role to defend freedom and democracy.

Among the news organizations that will offer "Press Freedom wreaths" are NUJP, Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility, Philippine Press Institute, ABC 5 and Philippine Daily Inquirer.

NUJP plans to make the wreath-laying at the Del Pilar shrine, located in Bulacan, Bulacan, a yearly activity. The program will start at 8 a.m.
Meanwhile, the jamming session, dubbed "Pa-imPRESS ka JAM", will be held at the Freedom Bar in Anonas St. cor. Aurora Blvd. in Quezon and will start at 8 p.m. Among the performers will be: veteran journalist Pete Lacaba, Inday Espina (Philippine Graphic), Cesar Apolinario (GMA7), Alwyn Alburo (GMA7), Ruth Cabal (GMA7), Raffy Tima (GMA7), Cecil Lardizabal (ABS-CBN), Jiggy Manicad (GMA7), Edwin Bacasmas (Inquirer), Mark Salazar (GMA7), Cherry Mercado (ABC5), Jason Torres (ABC5), Daniel Razon (UNTV), AR Sabangan (GMA News.tv) and Alex Remollino (Bulatlat.com).

To read poems on press freedom are Inquirer publisher Isagani Yambot, Ramil Gulle of ABS-CBN, Iris Gonzales of Philippine Star, Marlon Ramos of Inquirer and Richard Gappi of Manila East Watch/Neo-Angono.

Rowena Paraan (09104950095)
Joe Torres Jr. (09209010013)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Journalists to mark World Press Freedom Day
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
» Hadeeth 40 : The World is the Means and the Sowing-Field for Attaining the Hereafter
» Swami vivekanantha, in World parliament of Religion , America chicaco , 1893
» Mark (Daiji) Strathern
» Abdul Sattar Edhi - A world popular Social Worker
» Freedom Parades

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Jump to: