The Official web forum of Kapisanan ng mga Kamag-anak ng Migranteng Manggagawang Pilipino, Inc.
HomeHome  GalleryGallery  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  RegisterRegister  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  Log in  Official WebsiteOfficial Website  

Share | 


Go down 

Female Number of posts : 880
Registration date : 2008-01-06

PostSubject: 4th POPDEV MEDIA AWARDS   Fri Dec 05, 2008 3:50 pm

List of Winners
November 25, 2008
Mandarin Oriental Suites, Gateway Mall, Cubao, Quezon City


Best News Reportage

Winner: David Chavez Dizon, abs-cbnNEWS.com
“Experts belie Arroyo's claim on impact of natural birth control”; “Low awareness of contraceptives plagues 3 RP provinces”; “Study: Moms prefer home births in Western Samar , 2 other provinces”

Runner Up:

Jaileen Jimeno, Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism
“Low investment in education consigns millions to illiteracy”; “Arroyo urged to adopt coherent national population policy”; “RP failing in ‘gut-level’ MDG indicators-ADB”

Best Investigative Report

Winner: Cherry Ann T. Lim, Rene H. Martel, Garry Cabotaje, Allan I. Varquez, Gerome M. Dalipe, and Mayette Tabada, Sun.Star Cebu

“Squatters and the City” (First Part: “Pipe dream,” “Homeless, landless,” “A place called Mahayahay,” “Slum lords”; Second Part: “Home at last but only for some,” “Unlivable lots, attitude”; Third Part: “Evict me if you can,” “Short on space, long on claimants,” “Turf wars”; Last Part: “To the rescue,” “Road home,” “Building fences,” “My people, my duty”)

Runners up:

Karol Anne M. Ilagan and Jaileen Jimeno, Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism

First Part: “Las Piñas Pushes School Reforms Despite Lack of Funds, Teachers”; Second Part: “Maguindanao, RP Fall Behind Key Indicators for Education”; Last Part: “'Ghost Teachers,' Phantom Schools Haunt Education Reforms in ARMM”

Alecks P. Pabico, Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism

First Part: “Price-Control Board Debate May Delay Cheap Drugs Law”; Last Part: “Will Public Health Trump Patents in Congress?”

Best Opinion/Editorial Piece

Winner: Rene Ezpeleta Bartolo, The Mindanao Times
“The seesaw for survival”

Runners up

Mayette Q. Tabada, Sun.Star Cebu
“What a woman can expect”

Rene Ezpeleta Bartolo, The Mindanao Times

Best Feature or Magazine Article

Winner: Isa Lorenzo, Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism
“A Feminine Challenge”

Runners up

Rossana Harper Alonso, Women’s Feature Service-Philippines
“Touring the Past, Shaping the Future”

Solita “Winnie” Monsod, Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism
“Tracking the Women’s Journey”


Best Radio Program

Winner: Magandang Gabi Dok, DZMM 630 kHz
“Sex education: Kailangan bang ituro sa paaralan o sa bahay? Sex education for the very young. How to start talking with your children about Sex.”

Runners Up

Talkback sa DZMM, DZMM 630 kHz
“Adolescent Reproductive Health Curriculum: Pagtuturo sa mga paaralan tungkol sa Reproductive Health at Fertility”

Magandang Gabi Dok, DZMM 630 kHz
“Mga ligtas at epektibong paraan ng family planning nga ba ang sagot sa lumalaking antas ng populasyon ng ating bansa? Ilang porsyento ng populasyon ang nasa tinatawag na poverty line?”


Best TV Documentary

Winner: I-WITNESS: The GMA Documentaries
“Nanay na si Nene” (Sandra Aguinaldo Team)

Runners Up

The Correspondents, ABS-CBN News and Current Affairs Department
“Parusa” (Bernadette Sembrano Team)

The Correspondents, ABS-CBN News and Current Affairs Department “Kulang na ang Salop” (Karen Davila Team)


Best Single Photo

Winner: Sonny M. Espiritu, Philippine Human Rights Reporting Project

Runners Up

Mayette Tabada and Alex Badayos, Sun.Star Cebu
“In the shadow of commerce”

Joan Bondoc, Philippine Daily Inquirer
“No crisis here”

David Chan Leprozo, Jr., Sun.Star Baguio
“Food Security”


Jes Aznar, Newsbreak Magazine

Board of Judges for the Print and Online Category

§ Prof. Danilo Arao (Assistant Professor of Journalism and Director, Office of Research and Publication, UP College of Mass Communication; Bulatlat.com and Pinoy Weekly)
§ Ms. Rina Jimenez-David (Columnist, The Phil. Daily Inquirer)
§ Dr. Alejandro Herrin (Professor, UP School of Economics and Fellow, Phil. Institute for Development Studies)
§ Mr. Abraham Olandres (Professional Blogger, http://www.yugatech.com)

Board of Judges for the TV and Radio Categories

§ Rep. Carlos Padilla (PLCPD Board Member)
§ Dr. Arminda Vallejo-Santiago (OIC, Office of the Dean and Chairperson, Graduate Studies Department, UP College of Mass Communication) for Dr. Elena Pernia (Dean, UP CMC)
§ Mr. Angelo Palmones (Director, DZMM-Manila Radio Division)
§ Mr. Enrique Abadesco, Jr., FPM (President, People Management Association of the Philippines )
§ Ms. Malou Tiquia (Founder and General Manager, Publicus Corporation)
§ Dr. Cory Raymundo (Councilor, Pasig City and Executive Director, Institute of Maternal and Child Health)
§ Ms. Charmaine Canillas (Chairperson, Advertising Board of the Philippines and President, Philippine Association of National Advertisers)

Board of Judges for the Photojournalism Category and Citation for Photo Essay

§ Mr. Jimmy Domingo (Freelance Photojournalist, Lecturer and Photojournalism Program Coordinator, Konrad Adenauer Asian Center for Journalism at the Ateneo de Manila University)
§ Mr. Gil Nartea (Freelance Photojournalist and Senior Lecturer, UP College of Mass Communication)
§ Ms. Teena Saulo (Documentary Photographer and Professor of Photography, De La Salle University)
§ Ms. Cheryl Borsoto (Freelance Photojournalist and Professor of Photography, Ateneo de Manila University)
§ Mr. Rom Dongeto (Deputy Executive Director, PLCPD)
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Jump to: